theParagon

same site - are they the same?


Saturday_00:41 — Same site???

It looks as if there might be a problem. You see - a member of this group I’m in was approached by a group to do some work for: www.canadiandrugawareness.com, but it looks an awful lot like www.theantidrug.com.

Here’s the crazy part - canadiandrugawareness.com has claimed no affiliations to the other site, but it’s screaming site theft. I checked the whois records and both are very much alike. Each site has been updated within a day of each other.

Others in the group have suggested various things to do. One member suggested submitting these sites to www.pirated-sites.com. Other suggestions where simply to walk away from the project, where as some feel this person should talk with the company and explain the seriousness of site theft.

All I can say is wow - how could you (as a company) claim to have no affiliation with the other? The META tags are even the same!

What would you do?

posted on May 4, 2002 | 1:19 AM EST

7 Comments

Add to the discussion.

Aaron Schaap Says:

For those of you that may not be able to tell who copied who - canadiandrugawareness.com copied the other site.

Posted at: May 4, 2002 1:21 AM

Trin Says:

Egads!! They even used the same pictures!

Posted at: May 4, 2002 12:06 PM

Tim Says:

Get some work out of it — explain the seriousness of it (including the legalties of it) and suggest that your group could do a rapid prototyping of a new site for them.

Don’t work with them if they keep it up.

Posted at: May 4, 2002 3:14 PM

Aaron Schaap Says:

I agree with ya Tim. One thing I would really like to know if - who actually did the site? Not - who designed it first but who was the developing team that copied the design and presented it to canadiandrugawareness.com?

I would like to see what this company has to say and see if their doing this on alot of their other projects. If this was an inhouse project - is that person still there?

So many questions - I’m sadly thinking I won’t get an answer but if anyone knows - I’m curious.

Posted at: May 4, 2002 4:09 PM

JoelC Says:

Interesting — on the FAQ page for the Canadian site, they make mention of the National Youth Anti-Drug Media Campaign. That’s the campaign of the other site (the antidrug site).

So I guess the question is whether actually claimed they had no affiliation with the other site, or whether they just didn’t claim an affiliation with the other site.

Posted at: May 4, 2002 6:50 PM

Jodi wants to learn more Says:

Couldn’t it be possible that the same team did BOTH sites and didn’t disclose their activity with the other … ???

I wouldn’t know - but … is it possible, or can you tell by the code and all that jazz that the same team didn’t do it …

Posted at: May 6, 2002 9:23 AM

Aaron Schaap Says:

Good thought - but one site is coded nicely and the other site is thrown together all weird and not very well.

It doesn’t work in various browsers (whereas the other one does) and you can tell from the degrade of design from the origional to the fake.

Posted at: May 7, 2002 12:30 PM

Post a comment










Remember personal info?

Step 1:


Step 2:

Step 3:

Flickr Photos (all/by location)

Great Things

Elevator Up 7dots

View Aaron Schaap's profile on LinkedIn